the To Do List

I love lists. So there, I said it. I’m a nerd. If you aren’t an organized person and tend to hate lists, well dear, I think you should reconsider. What more could you ask for? It’s as though fairies are dancing across the paper when its time to cross something out and mark it as done.

I’m currently job searching and I’ve taken a great deal of information from my list making habit. First of all, a fair amount of time is spent on meeting with recruiters, printing, altering, answering, and revising emails, cover letters and thank you notes. It’s a lot of work but doesn’t seem to add up to 4 months worth of unemployment. I started my to do list as soon as I began my job search and as time has gone by its the one thing keeping me going. Why?

It’s the one thing that keeps giving me a reality check. Every time I sit down on my bed and complain about how I’m wasting away, I look up and there is it. My to do list is looking at me and reminding me that there are better things that I could be doing rather than mopping around the house. 1 point for To Do List.

Two, crossing out things you’ve done just make you happy. I mean, it’s natural, who would argue that? When you cross off things like “pay light, cable, and rent” the day’s load feels a little ligher, doesn’t it? This is key. It also makes you aware of the things that you keeping stable. 1 more point for the To Do List.

Lastly, I’ve come to realize that there are particular things on my list I absolutely HATE TO DO. I will procrastinate until it seems to be a size 50 font and starring me down from the moment I wake up. This is something I’m working on. I’ve begun to notice those things that I like to neglect and I’m working on getting those things done when they need to get done. It’s provided a great deal of discipline to my day as well as removed a fair amount of anxiety and dread. It’s important to pay attention to those things we leave on our lists. There is a reason and we have to learn to face those tasks, as mundane and boring as they might be because let’s face it, we should enjoy our To Do Lists as much as possible. At the end of the day, it’s our life. We should aim to enjoy every part of it.

 

About Antonella Saravia

Antonella is a freelance writer. Graduated from Purdue University, Antonella is based out of New York City and Nicaragua, where she was raised. Follow her via Twitter @tonesaravia & Instagram via @tsaravia.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

