idea hoarder

As mentioned in my previous post, I’m trying to kick a very bad habit that has been holding me back for some time now.

I am an idea hoarder. In the months to come, I’d like to change that. There’s nothing wrong with keeping ideas but it’s important that we do something with them. Keeping great ideas locked away in a box is by no means productive or healthy. You have to go out there and live something.

Lesson for the day:

I realized today that I constantly jot down recipes that sound amazing but never try them. I stick to the basics because some seem too complex or too hard. However, in the last month, I broke my “safe” cooking pattern by adding herbs to some of my dishes. It immediately upgraded the flavor. This was a huge break for me and I remembered it when I read a recent post by Seth Godin regarding adding “herbs” to marketing tactics.

It’s true. We are scared to venture into the unknown land of “herbs” that we know nothing about, but let me tell you something… whether the “herb” you add in your life works or not, you’re going to learn something about yourself. You are going to learn something about your dish, you are going to either add this herb to your next grocery list or swear it off forever. So, for this week, no more hoarding recipes. I’m going to try something new. It’s time for a new ingredient, I’ll keep you posted.

Cheers!

About Antonella Saravia

Antonella is a freelance writer. Graduated from Purdue University, Antonella is based out of New York City and Nicaragua, where she was raised. Follow her via Twitter @tonesaravia & Instagram via @tsaravia.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

