you are right.

I’ve been thinking a lot about change lately. I thought a lot about it after New Years, then Lent came running in, and before you know it, you find yourself into the third month of the year with how many of the same habits from last year? I know where my faults lie. I usually pretend that I’m confident, when I’m not and allow myself to slack, where I shouldn’t.

I don’t know if you’re familiar with the Marcinator blog but I was very inspired by one of her recent postings. Kicking bad habits, hmmm. Sure, I’m kicking diet coke and my social smoking for Lent but what about those habits that are so ingrained in my system that I can’t live without them. Like… never taking the next step with any of my projects or keeping all those good ideas to myself as Seth Godin mentions in his blog.

But how do you start? Well, I’ve been meaning to write, I’ve been meaning to write for a long time but everytime I read a blog like Marcinator’s or Seth Godin’s I feel small and decided to work on it another night. Thing is, nights pass and before you know it,… it’s March and you’re in the same position as November. So today, I made a list of all the things I like and am too comfortable with. I’ve provided my painful list below. My goal is to work on taking each one of these interest to the next steps. A friend recommended I do all the things that make me a little nervous, so here goes.

Make a list of the things that you’re a little scared of trying. Contemplate moving through them slowly. Forget about gunshy, forget about the big picture, forget about how good you are. Just try something different. Today.

  • Photography. Do 1 themed photoshoot.
  • Cooking. Have 1 dinner party and blog about the recipes used.
  • Write about each experience, even if nobody is listening.
  • Running. Promise yourself a six pack and find a way to get there.

I put a great deal of time into trying to figure out why someone has gotten ahead while I’m stuck in self-doubt land but… I’m here because I’m thinking about it so much. Kids, I keep thinking someone’s going to give me the secret to moving forward but … no one will. You just have to keep wiggling until you find your space.

Henry Ford said “Whether you think you can or think you can’t – you are right.”

Cheers, see you soon!


About Antonella Saravia

Antonella is a freelance writer. Graduated from Purdue University, Antonella is based out of New York City and Nicaragua, where she was raised. Follow her via Twitter @tonesaravia & Instagram via @tsaravia.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

