what ought to be done,… might be fun

So I get bored at work. In addition to needing something to entertain myself with, I received a review that basically stated that I was doing a good job but there was remove to take it up a notch. I have to say that I agreed with the review and decided to put in the extra work to see how much the difference really was. It was very basic- pick up on first ring instead of second or third. Get up more and check that things are in order. … etc. They are the lazy things that you just don’t want to do but for some reason, people seem to notice.

Amazingly enough, I had a great day yesterday but only because… the satisfaction of doing a good job was thrilling. I felt like a million dollars all day as I grabbed various phone calls at a time and always on the first or second ring. My efficiency didn’t change because I try to do work as efficiently as possible by nature,.. but my attitude did. I felt the difference and I was more eager to get all those “little things” around the office done. And don’t get me wrong, I emailed with friends and checked out blogs but I didn’t feel guilty about it anymore because I knew what was needed, was done. And correctly!

To top it off, the usual “gloom” at my job faded. I truly felt “happy” at work because it was an ego boost to know that I had done a great job. I was proud of myself for something simple, on an idle weekday. It was refreshing to say the least. I was also able to walk away from work yesterday not wishing I had done a better job or wondering if I should have done that extra “thing”.

It all came from the reminder that “doing what ought to be done” needs to come with a little bit of love sometimes. It’s worth the effort as I found that even the most mundane tasks can spark a glow.

Cheers!

About Antonella Saravia

Antonella is a freelance writer. Graduated from Purdue University, Antonella is based out of New York City and Nicaragua, where she was raised. Follow her via Twitter @tonesaravia & Instagram via @tsaravia.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

