ahorita mismo

I was listening to Eckhart Tolle this morning as I was walking to the F train station on my way to work. One of the short listenings that came on as I boarded the train was on “Enlightenment”.

He said something that seemed to be very apparent in my life these days. We seem to think that happiness and enlightenment  are goals in which we’d like to achieve in our lives. However, creating these goals seems to be the problem or obstacle that most of us create in being happy or enlightened. Why?

Well, he made a very good point. Usually, we are in a state of calmness when we give up. When there is no longer an internal resistance to the world and our reality. This is when we feel calm, when the storm brushes over and we see things clearly. This is when we feel enlightened- when we give up and just be.

As I’ve mentioned before, I had— ok, I shouldn’t say had, I kind of had some today so… I have been dealing with anxiety. One of the reasons I was feeling so anxious was because I had placed Happiness & Enlightenment at the top of my To Do List. If you are not presently happy with your present moment, it’s difficult to look for it in the future. These goals that are created are like Eckart says … states that we can only access in the present. If we yearn for them in our future, we will never really live it.

Are you someone that lives in the present? Do you activate these feelings in your PRESENT life or do you always yearn and chase after ideal goals?

Try to focus on being happy today. Just today. Try to appreciate the small things. Lunch time. Say thanks for 10 things in your life. Decide to give 1 task that you hate a little extra love. Accept that you hate it but give it extra love. These are ways of giving yourself happiness in the present moment. This is the way to live a happy life, by activating the present.

About Antonella Saravia

Antonella is a freelance writer. Graduated from Purdue University, Antonella is based out of New York City and Nicaragua, where she was raised. Follow her via Twitter @tonesaravia & Instagram via @tsaravia.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

