whyyyyyyyyyyyyy

It’s funny how sometimes a conversation that you have seems to follow you around for a number of days. I’ve come across various people that are considering ending their current relationships.

When is it time to end things? I’ve played around with this question before and I know it’s a tough one. The reason it’s tough is because we usually know that it’s over when it’s over and some of us just wait and sit tight to be sure.

Other times, we’re afraid to pull the trigger even when we know that things in the relationship are not as they should be. The times this has happened to me, it’s been difficult to take this decision because I was not strong enough to accept that with all my efforts, I was not able to control or fix the situation.

It’s dangerous to always focus on what the relationship “could be” instead of what is really there. By always imagining the could be, you’re also being unfair to your partner in comparing them to a ideal rather than a reality.

How do you know when to let go? Give it time and you will know, but do yourself a favor. When you know, do it because after that, you’re just fighting the rain. Decaying relationships affect us in the long run.

I personally think that we stay in bad relationships because we’re trying to figure things out. Things that don’t really have reason and if they do- you ain’t going to see them until the fog lightens up.

Why did I chose this person?

Why did I think they were going to change?

What I am going to do now? Do I have to start from scratch?

Yes, you have to start from scratch. Yes you chose that person but who cares? You’re growing and you’re narrowing things down and thats the part that you need to be focused on.

Love things for how they are, not what they could be.

About Antonella Saravia

Antonella is a freelance writer. Graduated from Purdue University, Antonella is based out of New York City and Nicaragua, where she was raised. Follow her via Twitter @tonesaravia & Instagram via @tsaravia.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

