the final oomph

It’s been an interesting couple of months but I’m back and ready to rumble through the pains of 2011. I apologize for the absence but when a tornado passes, sometimes, you need to take some time to figure out what needs repairing and what is working just fine. I have set goals for December 2011. If I want to know what I want for next year, I need to know what there is left from my recent stretch. I will focus on myself for the next month. No distractions. This month I pledge to date myself. There will be pampering, inspirations, and self love this holiday season because if I want to get the next year started, I have to make amends with this one first.

This month’s goals are no different from the rest of the year’s, however, there is a different intention behind them. I challenged each of these points this year. I rocked the boat, if you will, hitting each one at it’s core fear. I have reflected and now that that’s done, it’s time for a final oomph.

Let’s see whats left to play with and what is new.

Image

Wish me luck, kids!


Three most important goals:

-Physical Focus: Work on getting into a healthy state. Feeling good about myself and enjoying by myself and losing those vanity pounds that are only there because I think I cannot lose them. Eating healthy and making time for the healthy habits that I need to stay fit and focused. Beautiful. .
-Spiritual Focus: Pay more attention religiously. Slow down more. Listen more. Talk less this month. Quality over quantity. Be there. Appreciate and allow dots to connect naturally. More than anything, listen. This time of year people have a lot to say.
-Mental Focus: Keep writing and focus on a new project that will come to me. Be open to receive it as it will be expecting me to be ready. Allow the fears that were tested this year to settle. Focus on what was addressed and work on what is left.
What can get in the way?

-Feeling self pity and self sabotaging at the first bump in the road. If I fail at a workout, on a having a healthy day, if I have the urge to drink a little extra and crave a boy’s attention a little more than I should… forgive myself but evaluate the after thought. I must pay attention to the feeling after to be true to myself. And when I fail, this is the moment to keep going. Have faith that you’re going somewhere with it.
Remember…. she did only because she believed she could.
-Being lazy. Try to get up. This is the month to push a little more than you usually do. Because it’s X-mas, push yourself to give a little more to yourself.
-When your mind gets spinning, tighten the rope. You are not alone, you are perfectly lonely. Single, free and happy. No lies, just life.
-Acceptance of the feelings I generate. The point is not to indulge but to accept. No judging this month. Just love.
What actions will I take to reach my goals? What resources will I use? How will I overcome obstacles?
– December 31st deadline.
-I will go to bed early to stay focused and avoid being tired (which makes me self destructive and lazy)
-I will write every single night to keep me in check, just a little journal to keep me aware of frustrations and thrills. The more thrills this challenge creates, the more attached I will be.
-Believe it or not, 8 glasses of water. Sometimes, the basics help.
Cheerio chaps. Let’s get this show on the road.
About Antonella Saravia

Antonella is a freelance writer. Graduated from Purdue University, Antonella is based out of New York City and Nicaragua, where she was raised. Follow her via Twitter @tonesaravia & Instagram via @tsaravia.

2 comments

  1. Guess what? Drink 8 glasses of water per day, and if you have a big day coming up, like Christmas or a party with LOTS of pictures to be taken: decrease water intake in the days leading up to the party. 6 glasses the day before and only 4 the day of. No bloaty, just hydrated happy. =)

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

