the post cookie bag moment

A friend eff’d up today. She didn’t wake up for class. She was sad. She moped around and beat herself up. I haven’t spoken to her but she probably ate a bag of chips and stayed home.
Confession: I scarfed down a bag of cookies while I wrote my December goals yesterday. This is not exactly the best start to a goal list that includes losing weight but the cookie was looking at me and so, I ate it. And one thing led to another and we were in bed together with an empty bag.
The first thing I felt was relief this morning. I already screwed up my goals on the first day. What could be worse? Nothing. The world didn’t end. A group of sorority girls did not come in to mock me. No one even knew (until now). I realized that failure had occurred and it was not permanent. Today, I had a chance to pay attention to this sensation of bloating and guilt and apply it to make a change. I wanted something different. The bag of cookies didn’t get me closer and I sure as hell didn’t need a bag of cookies to fill my appetite. It was an emotional splurge.
Lesson: I am going jogging today. In the cold. I am excited. I have a burning sensation to do something that will make me feel like I’m ready for this challenge.
Maybe, we need a little failure in our lives, you know? so on that note, figure out what the fear is behind not accomplishing some of your goals while you write them out. There is a particular fear that scares you and it’s important to understand that it means nothing. And if it were to occur, you will find clarity in your post cookie moment.
I promise. The tummy ache exists for a reason. We need LEARN to how to feel better.
Cheers loves.
About Antonella Saravia

Antonella is a freelance writer. Graduated from Purdue University, Antonella is based out of New York City and Nicaragua, where she was raised. Follow her via Twitter @tonesaravia & Instagram via @tsaravia.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

