it’s the little things

Ideally, I would arrive home at 5pm every night to cook a healthy meal, workout and pamper myself before getting into bed early with a good book. Yes, that is the ideal scenario but… it’s not realistic, especially not in a city like NY. By the time I get home it’s a little after 6pm. I have to start thinking of dinner. I cook or order the food while I clean up the mess I made that morning. Depending on my mood, a workout will follow IF there is no social/work event that I have scheduled on my calendar for that evening. I’m usually too tired to read by 10pm but I force myself to get through 2-3 pages of whatever book has been sitting on my nightstand for over 4 months. This is usually when I quit and throw the book on the ground and grab the pc for 1 to 2 hours of mindless streaming. Please keep in mind that this occurs on the lightest of days, when I get out of work on time, when no social commitments were scheduled, and no guests are visiting for the week/end. I also assist a start up once a week and usually have ongoing projects through the week so the night I just described usually happens … once, every two weeks.

So when am I supposed to work on myself? How am I supposed to create time for self growth in this very tiresome schedule? This has been on my mind for some time now. As I mentioned in my December goals, I’m trying to create a balance for myself. I want to reach those goals that I have been working towards all year and although I’m still a long way from them, I’d like to think that I’m still heading in the right direction.

I spoke to a friend about these concerns and I realized a had a bit of information to offer about what have I learned so far…

1. The mini oomph matters: Someone once told me that there was only one important difference between a successful person and everyone else, … it’s what they did in their free time. A few minutes of anything make a difference, that’s what you have to keep in mind. A few snacks a week make a difference on you, a couple of minutes jogging make a difference off you, and the few pages you have time to get in can change the way you think that week.

How do I know because… I started tweaking my life. There is no other way to say it. I gradually began to change things but in small doses so I couldn’t really fight it out too much.
2. Don’t cancel (all the time): You know that event that you planned for next Thursday that in theory seems fun but doesn’t anymore on Wednesday. Well, go! If you stop trying things that are new or different, you’re basically bailing on the opportunity to experience something that might surprise you. If you’re bored with your life, it’s your own fault because you’re framing it that way. Even simple… can be fun.
3. Just Say No: The next time your little devil pops up on your shoulder and begins to cheer on that “thing you do that is bad for you”, just this once, say no. Boredom and sadness might follow but maybe it’s time you deal with that emotion instead of indulge in whatever activity covers it up all the time.

These are small things I have done over the last couple months. You will begin to see small changes in your approach and the way you feel about yourself. This is usually when you begin to crave more. This is usually when you realize Sh*t, I think I can do this. I might be able to be that person I want to be. 

If you think about it, no one loses weight over night. Most of us sweat the inches off gradually; that’s the approach we have to take with ourselves instead of expecting all of our bad habits to be gone in the morning because we’ve wished them away on a random Monday night. We have to be there while they are worked off. We have to participate in the process.

Think about it.

love, bleu

About Antonella Saravia

Antonella is a freelance writer. Graduated from Purdue University, Antonella is based out of New York City and Nicaragua, where she was raised. Follow her via Twitter @tonesaravia & Instagram via @tsaravia.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

