the water of now

M, thank you for your lovely & honest post.

Apologies for my absence, my parents are in town and it’s been quite difficult to get near a computer. I have had lots of time to do scribbling while shopping and waiting for my mother between stores. I read a quote earlier this week, it was very simple, something about people being focused on what they are missing rather than on what they have.

This got me to thinking… how often do we cheat on the present with our ideas of the future? How loyal and appreciative are we to the things that we actually have in our lives now? It’s human nature to look ahead and desire more but I think it’s very important that we maintain a balance with the things that have already earned a place in our lives. We cannot dream of the next steps until we have given the present the love, nurture and attention that it requires and deserves. We cannot seek future relationships until we have catered to ourselves and the people already in our lives. We cannot seek that next step in our careers until we feel that we have given our current opportunity our all.

It made me very happy to realize that my December goals are putting this all into focus. My focus on the now, on December not 2012, has pushed me to write now, not next year. I’m currently enjoying the natural push that comes with being faithful to the present.

A funny thing that reminds me to be present is water. It’s very difficult to dismiss the sensation of being wet. It pulls you into the present, so does the cold. Next time you wash your hands or get in the shower, let it pull you in.

Love, bleu

 

About Antonella Saravia

Antonella is a freelance writer. Graduated from Purdue University, Antonella is based out of New York City and Nicaragua, where she was raised. Follow her via Twitter @tonesaravia & Instagram via @tsaravia.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

