follow the light

My dear 2011-ers,

It’s time to say goodbye to yet another year. As promised, I worked on my December goals but I wasn’t very good about walking through each of the steps that I was taking. What can I say, the holidays got the best of me. Regardless, the project was very much in the front of my mind the entire month. Today is the last day of the year and I’d love to go over the things that I reviewed over the course of the month.

I have been working very hard to be more focused in my goals but there has been a lack of imagination in what I was doing. I hate to be cliche and quote the secret but a huge flaw in my plans was being able to visualize where I wanted to be. I was too aware of the obstacles and although that is realistic and healthy, it’s not always necessary.

For example, I want to be a writer but keeping in mind that I won’t always want to write might not be the best thought to have circulating around. To not want to write is something that I don’t want. New thought: I want to be a writer. Maybe that is enough.

I want to be healthier this year. I understand that I will want to eat out, that I will want to stay home when it’s cold and that there will be days that waking up early to work out will not be my cup of tea but they aren’t necessarily things I should be thinking about anymore. New thought: I want to be fit. I want to give this new thought the opportunity to stand alone.

I’m very afraid of losing my balance with things. Not being healthy enough, drinking too much, sleeping in too often, saying too much, etc. However, the fear of these things might be the exact thought that generates them. New thought: I want to be balanced in all I do. Allowing this thought to take the wheel might just create the balance on it’s own as it will be it’s own guide.

Think about what you want. Imagine the end point of where you want to get with the areas in your life and create a basic list of wants. Let those drive you this year.

This is what I have learned in the last month. I evaluate the details too much when in the end, we can get to where we want to be by just living in the want and enjoying the journey and growth that comes with it.

Keep that in mind and stop beating yourself up when your actions aren’t 100% behind you. If you really want it and focus on it in a positive way, your thoughts will change your feelings and your feelings will begin to shift your behavior.

First resolution for 2012 will start with the basic question: What do you want? What do you really want?

Don’t pretend you’ll know how it will happen. Don’t pretend that it’ll be at your doorstep January 2nd. Just put it out there. For you to enjoy. Let’s remove of the fear of wanting things out of our reach, out of our status, out of our creative scope, etc. What do you want for yourself this year? Think about it.

Besos, bleu

About Antonella Saravia

Antonella is a freelance writer. Graduated from Purdue University, Antonella is based out of New York City and Nicaragua, where she was raised. Follow her via Twitter @tonesaravia & Instagram via @tsaravia.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

