curve ball

Reasons why 2012 sucks:

So I get that everyone was all dressed up and ready to give the ol’ FU to 2011 but I’m not all sure that 2012 is going to be the new guy that made me never want to speak to 2011 again. Why, you ask? I’ll tell you why.

Well, for starters, I quit smoking for 2012. It’s been 4 days and I just might smoke my coworker’s retarded left pinky at any given moment. I’m pretty sure that most violent crimes are commited by people who have recently quit smoking and although my lungs are healthy, I’m not at risk of gaining back those freshman 15. Oy vey.
Romantically, 2012 sucks. I can actually say that I have not been hit on all year. Dramatic? Perhaps, but true. Guess I better start paying attention at work. This independent streak might be long term. Ugh.
What else sucks about 2012? It’s freaking cold, I’m hungry and my boss thinks I inherited telepathy when the ball dropped.
The bright side? Yes, there is one. 2012 is the first year of my life that I am able to identify all these nasty thoughts as “nasty thoughts” and although I sound bitter, I know better. My old thinking patterns are just that, thinking. They are not longer truths that I label my life with. I’m already healthier this year for not smoking and the fact that I haven’t been hit on has given me a clear head to deal with the things that are currently “real” in my life.
Hmmmm…So maybe, this year ain’t gonna suck so bad. I said maybe. I guess I just needed a little vent to start it off with before I gave you that amaze-ball lesson.
Make a list of complaints and then, realize you know better. It’s in there somewhere.
About Antonella Saravia

Antonella is a freelance writer. Graduated from Purdue University, Antonella is based out of New York City and Nicaragua, where she was raised. Follow her via Twitter @tonesaravia & Instagram via @tsaravia.

One comment

  1. Pingback: Head in the sand. « Just my point of view….

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

