stay tuned for flares

As my darling friend & prima ballerina mentioned in her post earlier this week (http://ogleobsessown.blogspot.com/2012/01/own-ballerina-brunch-inspiration.html), a ballerina themed photo-shoot brunch has been scheduled for tomorrow, Saturday.

I attended Purdue University in West Lafayette, Indiana. The highlight of our semesters revolved around “breakfast clubs”. This festivity allowed the bars to open as of 6am on Saturday mornings and encouraged people to dress up in costume. Yes, it’s halloween in the morning, over and over again. Brilliant, no? I thought so too.
So when I moved to NY and we’d start drinking, naturally, props and costumes would begin to make their way into the pictures. Something about the costumes made people more confident and more creative. The simple shirt and jeans scenario had been thrown out and you were actually wearing something that didn’t reflect anything about you. It’s almost a bit of a relief. Isn’t it?
Anyways, as time passed, I began to notice how much easier it was for me to direct people around to get the shots I wanted when they were in costume. Something about it made them easier to mold. They became more flexible to my requests and I found they weren’t stuck in the “that’s not for me” mode.
As I started asking the girls to brunch, I noticed that the more they dressed up, the more eager they were to get their pictures taken. A new thrill had been created, a new image … and they wanted to exercise it!
This week is the most exciting of them all because the girls will be ballerina themed. The thing about ballerinas is that once you go past the pink/black leotard anything can happen. It’s a nude canvas on what you want to add. Of all the themes we’ve put together, I do feel this shoot will be the most revealing and intimate.
I can’t wait to see what’s behind each one of these tutu’d ladies. All I know is, I can already see the colors flaring and no two will be alike. Because that’s what happens when you set out of the box, you transform. It’s like breathing a new kind of air.
So, stay tuned to for more as I watch these girls twirl into something else.
Cheers loves.
B
About Antonella Saravia

Antonella is a freelance writer. Graduated from Purdue University, Antonella is based out of New York City and Nicaragua, where she was raised. Follow her via Twitter @tonesaravia & Instagram via @tsaravia.

One comment

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

