play

There is a cassette that plays the story you know as “your story” over and over in your head. This cassette is usually what weighs us down and what makes changing so difficult to do. I say this because aside from the desire to change, there is the obstacle to out grow the idea that we have created for ourselves of what we are, what we do and what we can expect.

The next time you have a revolutionary thought and the cassette begins to play, trying to re-establish an “old you” pattern, acknowledge it. Acknowledge the old tune as an old tune. Things have changed, intentions have shifted and new muscles have grown.

The new you does go to the gym in the morning or at least she could, if that’s something new that you want now. The new you is going to try something different instead of just plan it on the calendar, like you used to. The new you can walk away from that person (friend or love interest) that doesn’t know what they want. The new you is going to have a great day, despite your boss’s mood.

The change may already be in the works, it just may be looking for a way out of your system. Open the door or crack open a window, but give it a way out.

I’ts important that we make way for the evolution that may have already started inside of us.  Be a radio. Let the your music stream, throw away the cassette. Evolve.

Tone

About Antonella Saravia

Antonella is a freelance writer. Graduated from Purdue University, Antonella is based out of New York City and Nicaragua, where she was raised. Follow her via Twitter @tonesaravia & Instagram via @tsaravia.

3 comments

  1. Pingback: a sunday note « bleustarchild

  2. meli

    “There is so much about my fate that I cannot control, but other things do fall under the jurisdiction. I can decide how I spend my time, whom I interact with, whom I share my body and life and money and energy with. I can select what I can read and eat and study. I can choose how I’m going to regard unfortunate circumstances in my life-whether I will see them as curses or opportunities. I can choose my words and the tone of voice in which I speak to others. And most of all, I can choose my thoughts.” Elizabeth Gilbert.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

