the push

Pain avoidance. That’s what I have been working on all week. Everything in my weekend revolved around trying to accept the discomfort in my life.

I was on the treadmill on Thursday minding my own when I realized that I had 1 mile left to go. The little hamster in my head was already figuring out how I could bail without feeling bad when suddenly I had a mature thought (ugh, how annoying) … what happens if you stay? what happens if you push and run it out instead of hop off or slow down? My exact thought was fuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu#$%#$^k!!!!! 

And so, there in the middle of the NYC gym, I had an internal struggle that would change my lazy a$$ forever. I pushed. I ran the extra mile and when it came to an end, aside from not dying I realized 1 thing… that I could do it. That given a push,  my heart did not pop, I didn’t throw up on the Asian lady next to me and that I walked out of that gym feeling a tad hotter than when I walked in. Had Jillian Michaels walked in at that exact moment, I swear she would have given me one of those “high five” looks with a “you go” under her breath. But no one said sh*t and I walked out of that gym quietly with a smile on my face.
Now you may not think that running an extra mile would make much a different but it does. Here’s why:
  • my body figured out how to run an extra mile longer that it was comfortable doing
  • my mind figured out how to get my body to do that; so the next time my bs tries to roll out, it knows better because it’s been done
It was later that night that I realized, I rarely pushed during my workouts because when you push, the blind fold comes off. When you walk away from a great run, you know better. Your body and mind are somewhere else and those half assed jobs you used to do, won’t get your blood pumping anymore.
Tomorrow’s bs won’t work as well which leaves you with the option of having to do better work.

via runstreet

It’s time to run harder, folks. What used to work before, ain’t working anymore and you know it.
Salut
About Antonella Saravia

Antonella is a freelance writer. Graduated from Purdue University, Antonella is based out of New York City and Nicaragua, where she was raised. Follow her via Twitter @tonesaravia & Instagram via @tsaravia.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

