the color game

Every morning, I put my make-up on at the desk next to my bed. Today, I happened to be doing my morning ritual in the bathroom. Because the light in there is brighter, I could see my skin more clearly than I usually do. I noticed the lines forming on my skin, the slight clump of make-up that hadn’t been spread out properly yet. I noticed my brows were starting to grow out and as I began to clean myself up it became clear to me that I needed a new concealer. For some reason, the hues on my face had outgrown the particular color and brand that I had been using for the last few months. Then it dawned on me… I am like my face –yeah, I know that sounds weird, but hear me out– I change. My face changes. The hues & the texture of the self change the same way the face and skin do. With age, a person darkens, lightens, fatten (God forbid), and do does the face, requiring period make-up updates. Some products stay the same but others don’t cut it anymore; not because they are bad or wrong but because they simply don’t match the changes to the face.

Whatever methods worked to make you happy and help you feel better about yourself one year ago may not be doing it for you anymore. The effect has worn off. You need a different blush. We all need to take the time some mornings to notice the make up we’re applying. Ask yourself, does it work? Do you have a desire to see something different? Have you reached a happy place with that particular shade? Maybe you have, but it’s good to stay in check. Like unwanted lines and hairs on your face, unwanted feelings and thoughts emerge. Your needs change, your ego shifts, and insecurities cross over to other areas… These all need to be addressed and tended to with care.

The mistakes come when we don’t pay attention. When we’re so busy smacking stuff on while trying to get out the door, we are unaware of its effect on us. We need to do status checks every so often because, my dear, no one should be walking around with the wrong colors on her face, but I can’t tell you how often it’s done. 

Love, B

About Antonella Saravia

Antonella is a freelance writer. Graduated from Purdue University, Antonella is based out of New York City and Nicaragua, where she was raised. Follow her via Twitter @tonesaravia & Instagram via @tsaravia.

One comment

  1. Totally agree with you and I recently had the same realization with my face. I changed my makeup to a BB cream and it’s wonderful. I would recommend you check it out at Sephora (Smashbox BB cream!)

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

