unexpected letters (or emails) & why they matter

My dearest M wrote to me last night. As I lay there in bed reading, the last thoughts before I went to sleep began to change. They softened. A close friend of mine always reminds me that when we shine, we allow others to do the same. So thank you, M because this is a perfect example of that.

Salut, B

via farm4.static

We all have something we are good at. Sometimes it is funny to admit it. But it causes a natural high. And that high is empowering. Do you have that too? What is it? If it is embarrassing I promise I won’t tell a soul. Today we took a quiz in my Public Finance class. Everyone thought it was terrible, and when ppl were getting 2 or 3 out of 10 right, I got 8. And I felt great. I got that high. Q todo me vale. It is hard to remember that feeling when you are down. Today was a good lesson, anything, even as lame as Public Finance, can give it to you. Always keep in touch with it. Keep it in your back pocket, so that even when nothing is right, you know that you are good at something. That knowledge is energizing and will fuel you to keep going. It will also remind you that even when it all seems dark, you’re just fine. Or if that doesn’t work, like my dad always says, just half a smile. If you can muster just half a smile, you will always feel better. So what gives u that high? That energy? What makes you give just half of a smile?

Love you,
M

About Antonella Saravia

Antonella is a freelance writer. Graduated from Purdue University, Antonella is based out of New York City and Nicaragua, where she was raised. Follow her via Twitter @tonesaravia & Instagram via @tsaravia.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

