your ride at the fair

We live in a world where everyone’s information is at our fingertips: what people are doing, where they are eating, what they look like, what they are wearing, who they are dating…(insert SIGH). It’s all there for us to see. Most of the time, everyone’s life seems fabulous, doesn’t it?

It all started off as sharing but somewhere down the road (on some boring Monday, possibly after a break up or a lousy weekend) we began compare, didn’t we?

I gave it all some thought this weekend. It’s taken me some time to face the reality that I’m addicted to everyone’s content. I’m at a point now where I think disconnecting from all this information would do me some good. I mean, when you are trying to figure out what you want in life … does it really help to be bombarded with all these ideas? To compare?

I had given a friend of mine some advice earlier in the week… “when you feel stuck, the best way to fix it is by doing something different; get lost”, I said. The shift will always make a difference. So when I sat down for some major brainstorming on what I wanted for myself for 2012, I realized what I want is to get lost. What I need is to get lost. So I wrote a a bucket list for the year and though I can’t share all of them with you, I hope the few things below get you going.

Please note: I’m not putting this up so you copy me. Quite the contrary, I hope you think my list is foolish. I hope your eye twitches from all the tweaks you want to make. I hope you realize that this list wouldn’t satisfy you. I hope it annoys you enough to write out the things that’d be just right for you because there are things that only you want to do. They are things that you need to look for out there, this year. They are like rides at the fair that you need to take.

So go out and generate some new content for yourself. And if no one gets it, it doesn’t matter, because they aren’t supposed to. Some rides need to be taken solo.

#6. Sell 1 photograph

#8. Get Lost for 1 Day

#12. Go Comando

#14. Cook German meal

#18. Watch the sunrise in NYC. (Preferably sober)

via caputcauda.files.wordpress.com

#21. Bake a cake

#36. Drink a Martini (They terrify me!)

#46. Slow Dance with someone

#47. When someone cancels, go anyway

Love, B

About Antonella Saravia

Antonella is a freelance writer. Graduated from Purdue University, Antonella is based out of New York City and Nicaragua, where she was raised. Follow her via Twitter @tonesaravia & Instagram via @tsaravia.

9 comments

  1. Pingback: #44 Purchase a Domain « bleustarchild

  2. Pingback: #10 Watch a Classic « bleustarchild

  3. Pingback: #25 Go To a Retreat « bleustarchild

  4. Pingback: #16 New York Sunset « bleustarchild

  5. Pingback: my scary thing « bleustarchild

  6. Pingback: #15 go to a concert « bleustarchild

  7. Pingback: #2 the arts: the ballet « bleustarchild

  8. Pingback: #42 slow dance « bleustarchild

  9. Pingback: the tale of #6 & the new world « bleustarchild

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

