#34 Be a Great Valentine

Valentine’s Day has come and gone. Yet again, the storm has passed and the dust has settled. Singles can breathe again. The grouchiness should have faded by now. Well, fingers crossed, anyway.

My Valentine arrived late this year. My dearest M bus’d her way over from Philli for some interviews and we had our exchange late last night at a bar over Malbec and gossip. The only requirement for the coordinated exchange was to include a letter to your future husband, to inspire a bit of faith of the good to come. As M’s mother says, “sometimes, you need to love the one you’re with” and that’s just what we did.

M gave me a little journal wrapped in a beautiful red wine vintage scarf. I was a little stunned. I had bought her cute chocolates, a kinky deck of cards, some gum to encourage lip locking, etc. But I should have known M was a classy lady. The journal she gave me was titled Frogs I kissed & liked. As I hugged and thanked her for the gift, M added the final touch. She said that this journal was for my frog kissing stories. She hoped that in time, I learned to like them and not be too hard on myself. I don’t think that I’ve ever felt so much love… for blank paper. Someone thought of me. Someone did something special. And it was oh so special to me that someone knew how to make me smile. I think in the end that’s what Valentine’s is all about. It’s very special when someone gets it right. Isn’t it?
This morning, I wrote in the 50 things I will be doing for this year. The first page reads “Frogs to kiss this year” and the pages that follow will be journal entries of each adventure. #34 on my list was to be a great Valentine. I don’t know how well I did with my present but I know that the other end of the stick is to make sure that no matter what is given to you, you appreciate it with all your heart. And I have.
So, 1 down. 
Before I go, I must give credit where credits due. I was inspired by some people around me.  People that make you smile when you watch them. Thank you for keeping some of us from going off the bitter end. The ones that remind you of the Sunday kind of love that’s on it’s way.
Salut, Bleu
About Antonella Saravia

Antonella is a freelance writer. Graduated from Purdue University, Antonella is based out of New York City and Nicaragua, where she was raised. Follow her via Twitter @tonesaravia & Instagram via @tsaravia.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

