rock&roll vs. the classics

Once again, Elle magazine has sent me a horoscope that has knocked me off my chair.

Go-getter Aries, down a planetary chill pill this week. On Monday, the sun slips into Pisces and your dreamy, surreal twelfth house for a month. This is the final phase of your annual zodiac cycle, a time that’s more about “dealing and healing” than powering forward with new initiatives. On March 19, the sun will move into Aries, lighting you up with fresh inspiration. You want to kick off your next birth month with a clean slate, don’t you? (Rhetorical question…um, of course you do!) So, what do you need to let go of, release, mourn, or walk away from? Your cosmic de-cluttering phase is underway, beginning now. Say goodbye to the old and outmoded, and feel the accompanying feelings. Pretending to be the “steel magnolia” only slows your healing process. People won’t think you’re weak if you show that you’re upset, or even shed a tear or two. Those shadowy emotions could actually become the inspiration for a great work of art, a far-reaching blog, or even a business. Tuesday’s new moon in Pisces opens up a six-month window for divinely inspired creativity. When you locate your own pain spots and find a remedy, you can share your process with the rest of the world. This is often how Aries become successful role models, and you’re no exception to the rule. Think about Lady Gaga’s journey to self-acceptance among her “Little Monsters,” or feminist grand dame Gloria Steinem’s oeuvre of literature and law-changing activism. Yeah, they’re both Aries, and the impact they’ve made will live on as their legacy. Dive into your psyche, and you’re sure to get some hits on how you’re meant to influence the world. Since you’re not big on lolling about in the Lotus Pose for hours, circle Friday through Sunday as the days to take initiative. The moon will join revolutionary Uranus in Aries then, firing you up to make a move. Don’t try to map out your entire mission, however! The Piscean fog could send you trudging down the wrong path. Remember that the journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step. That first move is the only one to concentrate on this week.

For the last couple of weeks, my blindfolds been slippin’ off. As each week in February has passed, I’ve had to face that I have been pretending to be a bit of a “steel magnolia” to myself and those around me. I keep getting more and more proof. I’ve avoided some detection because I’ve been sneaky in what to vent and what to keep under wraps. But in time, it’s all come out and has only delayed a healing process that’s way overdue. Accepting all this over the last few days has generated a great deal of content worth reviewing.

Immediately after reading the horoscope, I felt a sting of anxiety. I need to find my pain spot! I need to do this now! Am I behind already? Should I have started this by now? How do I map this out?!

(Enter aja moment) This is a pain spot.

Pain spot #1: The Ego’s Rage

After having caught up with a friend this weekend, he said something that made it all seem clear. “I feel like the world is trying to tell you that you aren’t ready for everything you are asking for” he said as we finished up.

Though I have been expecting quite a bit from the world lately, I realize now that I have nothing to offer. My heart’s on pause, my mind is in a constant swirl and my anxiety is at its highest. Whether it’s writing a book, the job of my dreams, or the man of my life showing up, I am not ready for it. I know this now. All these things require a great deal of stability and I have none to offer the world. But of course my ego wants it all, even what it doesn’t need.

Because my awareness has been increasing, my ego has been in a sort of a panic and it’s been quite draining.

Whether it’s this or that, the ego’s rants will always trump feelings because it’s so much louder. The ego is to feelings what rock and roll is to classical music. The more time you focus on proving the ego wrong or satisfying it, the less you will understand how you truly feel. This is huge problem for me, one I will be focusing on this week.

Dig deep next time the ego’s rage emerges & unburden thyself. You’d be surprised what lies beneath.

Besos

About Antonella Saravia

Antonella is a freelance writer. Graduated from Purdue University, Antonella is based out of New York City and Nicaragua, where she was raised. Follow her via Twitter @tonesaravia & Instagram via @tsaravia.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

