a beautiful mess

This is a bit of a follow up to Wednesday’s post. If you ever saw Sex & the City, I’m sure you could never forget when Carrie freaks out because Big gets engaged to a “simple” girl. I know when I saw that episode I thought shit, that can totally happen to me! 

I, for one, am miles away from being the simple girl. I know that now and post by post I’m coming to embrace it. At times, I think we all feel the way Carrie did that day. Some shock, a splash of shame, with a twist of despair. I wanted to share something that M sent to me on the topic that I bookmarked as a favorite for days like these:

While apples are easier to eat than mangos, I would be remiss to eat apples the rest of my life simply because apples can be eaten without any work. The fruit isn’t bad, but a mango, which requires a bit more work at the onset, provides an explosive sensory experience that is worth the peeling. My dear mango, you are not an apple. You never will be. And you never want to be treated as one. Further, you can never allow yourself to settle for someone that would be fine with a waxy, mealy apple. You have complex, rich layers. Each layer is more unique and interesting than the last. Please embrace this. 

My Notes:

1. The only person that is responsible for your mango-ness is you. You can be foolish and dress up like an apple ruining the experience for yourself and those around you. I’ve been thinking about this and I’m not entirely sure that the obstacles in our lives are misfortunes. I’m starting to get the impression that the difficulties we face might just be there to help us become more ourselves. Check it out- maybe when someone treats you like an apple, the universe is rooting for you to turn around and say “Whats wrong with you? I’m a f*cking mango!”

We’re bound to let the universe down time and again but here’s to trying.

2. Surround yourself with people that treat you like a mango. The people that are willing to get their hands dirty and have fruit stains on their shirts are the ones that will make this journey a good one. You’ll always be a mango. You are the cause of the amazingness in your life but some people will accept it. They may even demand it from you and that’s a beautiful thing.

So my little mangos, be the little mess you are. No shame.

Love, B

Special thanks to M for this one. Besos, mi negra.

About Antonella Saravia

Antonella is a freelance writer. Graduated from Purdue University, Antonella is based out of New York City and Nicaragua, where she was raised. Follow her via Twitter @tonesaravia & Instagram via @tsaravia.

2 comments

  1. Pingback: the love story « bleustarchild

  2. Pingback: the bird « bleustarchild

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

