go big or go home

In the last year and a half I’ve become extremely close with an old childhood friend. It’s always nice when that happens and you reconnect with someone you love.

Marcella Chamorro is a dear friend of mine who just released her first book, titled To Be or Like to Be: The Need for Authenticity in Online Marketing in the Era of Ultra-Informed Consumers. She is a blogger and consultant based in Nicaragua. Her work focuses on helping brands extend to the digital space. This is the same girl I used to boss around and play street hockey with. She’s now my mentor.

I realize this word is usually associated with someone significantly older and more experienced, but allow me to explain how it came to be that my little cousin has made such an impression on me. Marcella exercises a passion for learning and challenging herself. But what is special about her is that she demands the same from the people around her.

In my experience, most people who have accomplished so much at such a young age are very private about their methods. Marcella is not. Marcella has been a driving force behind my writing and is constantly pushing me to take the next step. She’s always eager to share insights but encourages me to do my own work. Every time I’m about to take a break she has a very subtle way of walking me through the doubts that I have. It’s meant so much to me that someone has taken the time to break down these fears in such a positive way. It’s very rare for someone to want you to succeed and invest the time to help. She’s done more managing for me than any of the supervisors I have worked with since joining the work force. 

A quick story I can share- just the other day we were discussing lent and I decided that I wanted to cut back on sugar but was going to excuse the (1/2) Splenda bag that I use in my morning coffee. I’ve always wanted to try this but I was being lazy about it. Marcella’s response was “go big or go home.” Wow, that was annoying to hear because she was right. It hadn’t occurred to me to add that extra discomfort to my daily life, even if it was the healthier choice to make. I haven’t had a bag of Splenda in my coffee since and I’m feeling great. My sugar intake has decreased significantly and I am actually enjoying my coffee sans sugar. These are the kinds of changes that Marcella and I discuss on a weekly basis. I’ve slowly started opening up to them and my quality of life has improved. Marcella simply plants a seed. I do the work and with each new exercise I learn a little about the lazy boundaries that have been running my life. Who knew discomfort and discipline could be this exciting!?

To celebrate the release of her first book, Marcella has agreed to post as a guest blogger on my site. Please stay tuned for a pleasant treat. 

I also encourage you to read her book, available on Amazon. I guarantee that her “out of the box” thinking will have a charmingly annoying effect on you.

Best, B

About Antonella Saravia

Antonella is a freelance writer. Graduated from Purdue University, Antonella is based out of New York City and Nicaragua, where she was raised. Follow her via Twitter @tonesaravia & Instagram via @tsaravia.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

