wanna be startin’ something

Good Morning, Peeps.

I hope all is well. The week is almost over so I hope you have that Thursday rush. It’s harder to be grumpy on Thursdays, isn’t it?

For the last few months, I have been waking up to a very pleasant morning routine. It’s something I feel that I just fell into but I didn’t. A great deal of thought and discipline was applied. I was so busy trying not to have a bad day… that I created a routine that creates a good one. It starts the moment I get out of bed and fades into the day as I settle in at my desk. Lately, I’ve noticed that no matter what kind of mood I am in, this routine makes me feel better about the day. The more I learn about myself, the more my routine makes sense. Here’s a snapshot:

  • Coffee. First things first. This is the most special moment of my morning. Coffeeeeee. Every time I serve myself coffee and my arm reaches for the sugar, I remember that I no longer have sugar in my coffee. It reminds me every day that I can break habits if I really want to. This is usually my first high-five of the day.
  • Work Email. As I have my coffee, I go through all of my work emails. I create a list of topics that need to be addressed throughout the day. When this is done, I allow myself to enjoy the next 30-40 minutes settling in.  This helps me feel focused and figure out how much wiggle room I have for the day.
  • Breakfast. I LOVE breakfast. I learn nothing here. There is simply a Brazilian carnival in my mouth. Things can only get better after breakfast.

As the morning starts, I open all of the following things on my desktop for later in the day…

  • Thought Catalog. Every morning, I go and check for post updates. It’s an amazing way to start the day, especially when there is a hopeful one that’s perfect for you. Plus, they are funny. What else do you need?
  • Twitter. I open my twitter page and check out whatever new information, articles and quotes are available for me to feed off. I open interesting articles as new tabs and leave them open for when I have a few moments in my day to review. I review new content as the day slows down. I don’t spend as much time looking for something good to read anymore because I already set it up earlier in the day.
  • Elle Horoscope. My friend, M, used to send me Elle’s Horoscope for the day. I now go online and copy her/my horoscopes and email them to her. It’s really nice to get something positive in your inbox as you start your day. The other thing is that I’ve really started to enjoy the “food for thought” provided by these postings. They always encourage awareness. I enjoy the wake-up call each and every day.
  • Google Docs. I have a Google Doc sheet that I use to put information in that I am not familiar with. As I go through articles, if there is a word or topic that I know little about I do my best to look up definitions, related issues, etc. If I get busy, I copy and paste it into the file and address it later. It feels good to cover new ground this early in the morning.
  • Calendar. I check out what is it I’m doing this week. I fill in spaces that have potential and make sure that all my goals are being addressed this week.
  • Pinterest. If I’m feeling slow, down, or as if I might jump out of a window… I look at this for a few minutes. It’s so random that sometimes, a random surprise is just what you need.

These very simple things make my day better. They help me feel like a writer. They make me feel as if I’m thinking, creating, and being inspired all day. Perhaps it’s because I asked myself, “If you were already a self-employed writer, what would you do every morning?” This routine was the answer. I shouldn’t have to wait for self-employment. I want to start living the life of a writer every morning. So here it is.

Work to create a routine that is special to you. If there is something you want to be, be it today. It’s important that we customize our daily intake to fit our needs. Every morning should offer some excitement. If there is some place you want to end up, start moving now. Even if the day itself started off a little crappy, a routine that you love just might save you from that “Debbie Downer” status. Give yourself a chance every morning to stir something up.

Besos

About Antonella Saravia

Antonella is a freelance writer. Graduated from Purdue University, Antonella is based out of New York City and Nicaragua, where she was raised. Follow her via Twitter @tonesaravia & Instagram via @tsaravia.

2 comments

  1. Pingback: the madness « bleustarchild

  2. Pingback: We need reflection we need a really good memory… | Is What It is

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

