a sunday note

Good Evening Friends,

I wanted to send out a quick post to end the weekend on a positive note. I was having a bad/difficult night until I came across some information that reminded me that I was wrong…

Eckhart Tolle said, “As long as you make an identity for yourself out of pain, you cannot be free of it.” I’ve been thinking about how often I’ve done this in my life. Over time, I must admit that though I was aware of many self-destructive habits I had, I kept them around for longer because I identified with them. I gave them a home because they helped me feel as if I had figured things out.

I urge you, as Eckhart Tolle does, to step out of those thoughts tomorrow. Let them run. But this time instead of understanding, judging, and analyzing them try to step back as they play. Be the observer of these thoughts in order to realize that you are not the creator. Furthermore, unconsciously identifying with these negative stories that our “pain body” creates ensures it’s survival. It creates the illusion that it is part of us. This is why we accept it and hold on to it the way that we do, but it is not part of us. I guess we all just want to feel as if we’ve figured ourselves out because what we don’t get scares us. But the only way to find yourself is by letting go of the “easy to understand” tale.

If you do this exercise tomorrow, you will most likely feel some sort of discomfort or irritation. Accept the sensation and the moment. It means nothing. The negative little story is trying to survive. Let it run out like water. It’s important that you realize that this is a cassette that is playing and it’s not content that you are generating. Eventually, after a bit of friction, it might quiet down. You may realize tomorrow that there lies peace underneath that cassette. You might understand that it’s been waiting for you.

We must discover that our tale is not yet complete and the main character is not yet done evolving. Passion is messy and unpredictable. Dreams are scary. So, we need to stop pretending that we have it all figured out because it’s impossible. We need to stop being scared. We need to let the story be written as it goes. We need to stop collaborating with our “pain body” to write out the only outcome that we can see feasible. Remember that you know nothing of life, maybe we’re not supposed to get it. Maybe all we are supposed to do is enjoy it. Do you?

Stars to you,

Tone

Ps. There are no shortcuts to any place worth going. Paulo Cohelo

About Antonella Saravia

Antonella is a freelance writer. Graduated from Purdue University, Antonella is based out of New York City and Nicaragua, where she was raised. Follow her via Twitter @tonesaravia & Instagram via @tsaravia.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

