#15 go to a concert

When you break up with someone, you lose a great deal of things that mean a lot to you. You lose the ability to see certain movies, to go or even think of certain places, and sadly, you also lose the ability to listen to some of your favorite bands.

My beautiful, curly Stanford friend invited me to a concert to see one of those bands that I had lost. Little did she know that it was #15 on my list and despite the possible discomfort, I decided to go.

As I sat there listening to the first song, an unexpected sense of peace came over me. I felt as if I was back in high school. All I could remember was the sensation of hearing these songs when I was 16, standing in the middle of a baseball field with my best friends.

It’s said that when you start to get over someone, you slowly begin to take the things you lost back. They become yours again. Somehow, the memory of the relationship had fizzled between the past & the new experience that I was creating.

Photography by A. Saravia

So here’s to letting go. City by city, scene by scene, and song by song…I’m here to tell you, you’ll take it back. You’ll take it back with new people in a new place. It will be different, but in a weird way, it’ll be better because it will be yours again. Remember you were someone before the love story started and you’re still someone after it. Remember that always, so you can make room for the next amazing memory because the show must go on.

Photography by A. Saravia

So, get on with it.

Photography by A. Saravia

Cheers, kids.

Tone

About Antonella Saravia

Antonella is a freelance writer. Graduated from Purdue University, Antonella is based out of New York City and Nicaragua, where she was raised. Follow her via Twitter @tonesaravia & Instagram via @tsaravia.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

