#2 the arts: the ballet

Amazingly enough, for my birthday, three of the gifts I received were all under #2 of my to-do list.

Photograph by jewelry designer, Pili Restrepo

I was invited to the opera, the ballet, and a musical. Three of the four art programs I had noted will soon be crossed off my list. This year, my birthday weekend was very special. I promise to tell you all about it someday. You see, I’m still taking it all in; it was a lot of love and happiness to digest and I cannot hand it over to you until I can do it justice.

Today was my first show. I attended the Barcelona Ballet with someone special. When the lights began to dim, the music slowly began to slip in as the graceful dancers entered the stage. There were colors everywhere! As I stared at the dancer’s faces, I came to understand that everyone has their own form of art. There is a piece of it in all of us. Their dancing reminded me of my writing. I thought about how they must be feeling on the stage—as if time was standing still and their hearts were full. They danced as if their bodies were playing the music.

Barcelona Ballet @ NY City Center

I thought it peculiar that the year that I indulged most in art was the year everyone decided to give me a little piece of it, but then again, maybe this is how the world works.

Could it be that the more you create and give art to the world, the more art the world will send to you? Could I have uncovered something? I’ve been thinking about this all night; I can’t help but believe it. I can’t help but want to create more of it. It feels so amazing to be sitting here typing. Each stroke of the keyword is like my own pirouet. It’s comforting to know the more color I throw out into the world, the more of it will be thrown back to me. Maybe the same applies to inspiration & love.

Maybe it’s not that the world gives it back. Maybe it also has to do with the fact that the more you open your eyes, the more you inspire others to do the same. I know that I want to be someone who one would love to share their ideas with because, God knows, that I will be wanting to share some, too.

I guess it is true—you do have to be the change that you want in the world. So please, be it. We’re waiting.

Love, Tone

About Antonella Saravia

Antonella is a freelance writer. Graduated from Purdue University, Antonella is based out of New York City and Nicaragua, where she was raised. Follow her via Twitter @tonesaravia & Instagram via @tsaravia.

2 comments

  1. Pingback: midnight study sessions « bleustarchild

  2. Pingback: year in review: #1 you, doing that thing you do « bleustarchild

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

