my summer hook up

I have long participated in a love affair that I have yet to enjoy the way I could. Right now, I’m referring to music. Though I’ve never donated blood to pay for a guitar and I don’t actually play an instrument, there are few people that will enjoy a tune and its words the way that I do. Perhaps, it’s because I write that I am able to appreciate music to its entirety.

I’ve been discussing taking things up a notch in the last couple of days. I think this is part of that. I recently made a purchase that I have always wanted to make, but I guess, I never thought myself enough of a fanatic. Again, a label I placed on myself. Oh, the horror! I can’t believe I’ve been depriving myself of this experience!

What experience? Hold on… I’m getting there.

As I walked by a store and spoke to a friend about a purchase he made I thought, I want one, too!

Turns out they aren’t really hard to get. My next question: But won’t this look ridiculous? I don’t know anything about this.


Answers: I don’t know anything about this because I haven’t ever looked into it. I want it. That’s reason enough. So, I made the purchase today and I can’t tell you how I’m feeling. Why didn’t I try this sooner.

Ladies & gentlemen, I introduce to you my summer hook-up:

The lesson? The more we get to know ourselves, the more we allow ourselves to say “OMG, I want that!” It’s part of the things we begin to treat ourselves to for digging deeper. Whether it’s an experience or something material, we begin to find that we’ve set up our own walls blocking us off from the very things that seem to blow our mind.

Now that I made my purchase, I gotta tell you… I’m an idiot for not having done it sooner. The way that I love music, the genres that I love… this makes sense! One might say, “I wish I had seen it sooner,” but not me. I’m just happy I finally got here- where the real music is playing. I can appreciate it here and this is where I belong.

Things like these are attainable to us when we’re lost, but it’s when we’re out searching for ourselves that we appreciate them for what they are. We hold them differently when we know why they mean so much. You might not be close to your “thing” yet, but I promise you, keep poking and you’ll find it.

Cheerio, kids.
Tone
About Antonella Saravia

Antonella is a freelance writer. Graduated from Purdue University, Antonella is based out of New York City and Nicaragua, where she was raised. Follow her via Twitter @tonesaravia & Instagram via @tsaravia.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

