the one

I had a very special date this Monday. I had an alone day. I spent a portion of the day reading and I came across a quote by June Jordan: “We are the ones we have been waiting for.” It dawned on me that in the last 10+ years (some time after having my first kiss), I had been waiting for someone to come in and swoop me off my feet. Then it hit me— I am the one that I have waiting for. I am the one I have been waiting to discover, comfort, create, and love.

I am the one I have been waiting for.

Some of us are meant to write. Some are meant to sing, act, design, or manage. Whatever the case, we’re all here to create ourselves. Maybe you have no weight on your shoulders to do only one thing that doesn’t disconnect you from this. We’re all in this to reach our potential, not to be the best at something, but to be best version of ourselves: to be authentic in the way we live and feel. We create and build out of interest and passion, not out of fear and mindless habits. We simply have different vehicles and seem to get lost in comparing or avoiding each other’s journey.

Tone

About Antonella Saravia

Antonella is a freelance writer. Graduated from Purdue University, Antonella is based out of New York City and Nicaragua, where she was raised. Follow her via Twitter @tonesaravia & Instagram via @tsaravia.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

