an open letter about the rush

This is an open letter to that person who sent me an email at 7:36pm EST. You know who you are and I’m sure, by now, you’ve taken a moment to check if it was your email that was sent at that time.

I wanted to let you know that the reason I started this blog was the very reason that you confessed to reading it. I don’t know when, but at some point I realized that each of us is given one special skill—a unique way to connect with the world. Some create the music that allows for so many to let go and spring across the dance floor. Some paint, while others have a knack for mounting the art. Whether we are destined to coordinate a magazine issue, design a venue, or invest in a business… if we do what we’re meant to do, living our dream sets the stage for someone else to live theirs. Because what we are creating will allow for someone else’s dream to be exercised. This is why it’s so important that we keep growing and doing because in the end, all of our dreams are connected.

Finding our place in this cycle takes time and requires a great deal of error. The beauty is in the journey and it’s rush.

I’ve always been over-analytical and sappy. For the longest time, I thought it was my downfall until I realized that people liked telling me their problems. I don’t think it ever had anything to do with me being trustworthy or quiet. I think it had more to do with my inability to hide my feelings and that very thing helped people to open up about it as well.

My dear friend, you said some things that are very true…. for one, yes, some days are f*cking hard. I can’t even begin to tell you how hard they can get. This doesn’t change. Life will always be hard, but what I have learned is that the trick is about mustering up the courage to live these days, not just the strength to endure them. When we learn to do that, we begin to expose ourselves to the height of the highs.

Whatever hardship you are going through, I guarantee three things… you will learn something from it, you will be better for it, and most importantly, it won’t last forever. That last part is the one that we tend to forget the fastest.

This is how I know: When I was about 10, I got braces. I remember that I could not sleep for two days. Man, I was pissed. I cried and bugged the sh*t out of my mother, exercising a demon-child behavior never seen before. That second evening, my parents dragged me out to a dinner where a cousin of mine walked over and very bluntly asked what was up. I looked at her and pointed to my mouth. “I know it feels like it’s going to hurt forever, but it goes away. One day, you wake up and it’s gone.” she said. The next morning, I completely forgot about my braces until I went to the bathroom to wash my face.

Every sting I thought would last forever has gone away.

So, what I want to remind you of is that it’s going to be over. Someday, it will all be over and if you look at anything that way, it’s hard to not appreciate it for what it is. There is something special to appreciate in our hardships. During my first job search in New York, I had a friend tell me that we discover what we’re made of when our backs are up against the wall. In each hardship, there is this moment—this “I wish I was driving along the coast with the music blasting” sensation that no one can take away from you. It’s that moment when you realize that there is a possibility- not of failing, but of succeeding. It’s that split second where you get a rush of adrenaline and think OMG, I might do this. It’s that rush that you feel in your gut when failing is possible. The illusion of failing makes the high. It’s the cliff that makes the jump.

Photograph by A. Saravia

Hold on to that thought. Don’t be afraid. A better you is in the making. Oh, and remember, we’re all in this together.

Your pen pal,

Tone

About Antonella Saravia

Antonella is a freelance writer. Graduated from Purdue University, Antonella is based out of New York City and Nicaragua, where she was raised. Follow her via Twitter @tonesaravia & Instagram via @tsaravia.

One comment

  1. a.

    best line: it’s the cliff that makes the jump. thank you for your words tone. hugs from the west!

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

