i will wait for you

Mumford & Sons recently released a song called “I will wait.”

It’s about that Notebook type of love. That Shakespearean type of “wait” that we all consider when we find our hearts broken and returned. I will wait for you. No matter what it takes, I will wait for you to come back. It’s a dangerous game, but I don’t know anyone who hasn’t played it at least once. To wait for someone. To hope they return. Because they are yours.

In a desperate attempt to identify with the song because I love this band, I decided to agree with the idea of waiting. In these passionate stories, the character waits patiently for their love to return. They enjoy love in this peaceful state because they are confident that things will work. Their love will prevail.

So, I have decided to wait—not for the someone to return, rather for the next great thing that is on its way. I will peacefully wait. In the meantime, I will indulge in the things I have now. That way, when that magic thing comes, I will have waited patiently and will have mastered how to enjoy it.

Maybe fairy tales do exist, but we just associate with the wrong settings. So I will indulge in this storybook love that you wait for. I will wait for you, future life, but I’m going to enjoy this life will you get here. It’s time to exercise these passionate loves, but on the parts of love that give us something back.

Because this life-love story is yours. Yours. It’s here and it’s coming.

We can have these great lives…if only we’d live them.

Tone

About Antonella Saravia

Antonella is a freelance writer. Graduated from Purdue University, Antonella is based out of New York City and Nicaragua, where she was raised. Follow her via Twitter @tonesaravia & Instagram via @tsaravia.

4 comments

  1. Interesting song!
    Not what I would usually listen to, but I like the message

    Adieu, scribbler

  2. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y1m1NNiq74Y tenes que ver esta pelicula se llama a tres metros sobre el cielo ES BELLA

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

