once upon a rooftop…

Last night, I celebrated a dear friend’s birthday. This classy fellow right here:

As I enjoyed the amazing view overlooking the city, a friend asked me where I’d be in the next 2 years. I started the sentence with, “I think…” and he was quick to interrupt. “No, not where do you think you’ll be… You have to see yourself. Where will you be?”

Thankfully, I’m big on visualizations so I did have an answer for him, but as  people came onto the rooftop the conversation faded.

I later spoke to another friend about frustrations and oddly enough I felt the story full circle in my head. He is in a place that he doesn’t seem to know how to get out of and that is a place that I know too well. I remember feeling stuck for such a long time.

The thoughts in my head were as follows:

  • I’m stuck.
  • How do I get out of here?
  • What am I going to do?
  • How long will it take me to change?
  • Will I change?
  • Is it even possible?
  • What do I do?

As  it says in Baz Luhrmann’s Sunscreen song: worrying is as effective as trying to solve an algebra equation by chewing bubblegum. It took me a long time to face that. It took me a long time to see that the visualizations and the actions were what I really needed to change my life. I, in turn, had been investing in the frustration and worry.

One of the first things that I think I did was start to tell people what I wanted. I wanted to write. When you commit to that, people begin to ask, “so, what are you doing?” I reached a point where I had to be honest with myself. What was I doing exactly to change things? I had a few months roll by where I knew that the answer was “not enough.” You know when you aren’t doing the work. You know when a little effort can change things. You know it and I knew it. I noticed something strange happen. As I began to write, I stopped saying I “wanted” to be a writer. I began to say “I am a writer.” I also felt like I went from saying I want to be happy to I am happy.

So, what are you doing? 

The first time I sat down to write I couldn’t believe I was doing it. It felt foolish and empty. I almost did it just to be able to respond, “I sit down and write all the time.” I couldn’t believe it when I did. When I sat down and started to write. It’s been almost two years since then and now I can’t stop.

My friend on the rooftop was right and it draws back to my post from last week, where will you be in one year? I’ m not asking what you want or what you think—where will you be in one year? Think about the conviction that needs to go with this statement.

We need to see ourselves at that place we want to be. The roads will take will be unpredictable. I can guarantee that reaching your dream scenario will not be anything like what you imagined because it will be better—because it will be real.

So, where will you be?

Please note that the attitude behind your response will reveal more about your current situation than you think. So, pay attention to your gut response. Your problem lives there.

Bueno kids, let’s hear it.

Tone

About Antonella Saravia

Antonella is a freelance writer. Graduated from Purdue University, Antonella is based out of New York City and Nicaragua, where she was raised. Follow her via Twitter @tonesaravia & Instagram via @tsaravia.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

