the new best

The crusade to become a writer has started. Task by task, I’m educating myself on the steps that need to be taken in the next few months. I’ve been thinking about the blog a lot lately because I know that without it, I would have never discovered that I had the ability to make myself feel better just by writing something out. So many of us have a laundry list of reading material that we depend on to educate us. We read trade publications to understand the industries that we are in. We read self-improvement blogs and books to understand our feelings. We read because it is the best way for us to connect without moving. It’s amazing when you read that one-liner, paragraph, or post that changes your day, isn’t it?

There is a world inside each book, blog, and publication that we expose ourselves to. It truly is amazing how much content there is out there. The amount of material that we can consume to become connoisseurs on topics that we’d otherwise never be exposed to. Though the amount of information available to us is a double edge sword—in the end, we’re lucky to have the luxury of so much information. Because of it, we really can be whatever we want to be and know whatever we want to know.

In the last few weeks, I’ve come to discover the most important reading that I am doing is reading my own writing. Yes, I read my blog. Over and over again. I can’t tell you how many times I read yesterday’s post as I battled through the impossible task of creating a webpage. Why the hell am I doing this? What am I thinking? Should I become a bartender? These are all the thoughts that ran through my head as I eyed a very expensive bottle of wine in the bar. It won’t break if I do it standing over the bed. Oy vey. 

I couldn’t sleep last night so I did my best to get through the pile of books that have kept my nightstand warm these last couple of months. I swear my brain grew just a little after reading the following line:

Your best will become better than it used to be. 

If we are on journey of self-improvement, our best changes over time.  The truth is that we are strong some days and weak on others. It’s important to learn to document these thoughts. When we are optimistic, reading through gloomy material allows us to see where our head goes on the darker days. When we are doubtful, reading a motivating piece might remind us that at one point, we had a bit of faith that we were capable of tackling the obstacles we’re facing. Our best improves as we learn to navigate through these thoughts. 

If you aren’t much of a writer, try to take note of the high and low points that you feel this week. Our minds are spectrums and if we do our homework, we can learn to understand how dark and how bright the thoughts run.

I read my blog posts because they remind me of a moment when I was strong enough to post something that scared me. I remember the courage that gave breath to the lines and it finds a way back to me.

You could read my blog for the next 20 years and find a peaceful thought at the end of each. It might make a difference in your day, but it might not because as we all know life is great at jumping in and blurring all those positive thoughts that you had with your morning coffee. If I could offer just a bit of advice, it’s do the work. It was only when I began to do the emotional inventories and self evaluation that I began to truly connect with my everyday reading. Before, it was just this cool insight to someone else’s search for happiness. Now, I read something and because I know the spectrum of thoughts that I have, I’m able to identify and apply the material that I read.

In the end, if you don’t know where you’re heads at, you don’t know where you’re starting from. Do the work, even if it’s just a little. The only thing I can guarantee is the your best will be better. That’s my only guarantee.

Salut,

Tone

 

About Antonella Saravia

Antonella is a freelance writer. Graduated from Purdue University, Antonella is based out of New York City and Nicaragua, where she was raised. Follow her via Twitter @tonesaravia & Instagram via @tsaravia.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

