the wanting

In speaking to my father today, he said something that I’ve known to be true, but had forgotten. When we decide that we want something and focus on it, we exercise an intention.

As I thought about this more and more, I realized that it’s not actually achieving something that matters in the end. We create happiness instantly in deciding what we want and going for it. Sometimes we’re just so fixated on the desired outcome that we miss it.

I have an example to share with you. My very lazy brother has started going to the gym. Everyday, he walks in and asks the same question, “Am I bigger?” It’s only been a few weeks and he’s no where near the size he wants to be, but you know what? He’s already happier with himself. His happiness is a direct result of just working toward his goal. His happiness lies in the sweat. In pushing himself. In believing that it can be done. Slowly, I’ve begun to notice other changes in his behavior and it’s undeniable that feeling good about his workouts has begun to spread into other areas of his life.

We work hard because there is a goal. That is something that we can all agree on, but sometimes, we don’t reach these goals and that’s okay. Life has a way of getting in the way.

My father encouraged me to figure out what is it I want and to work blindly for it. If I do that, no matter what the result is, I will find happiness. I wanted to pass that on to you. Things will change with time, my goals will shift, but it’s important to keep the habit of working towards them.

The universe will decide the outcomes for you. There are so many variables that we cannot account for. There is place, time, and then my favorite, sheer luck. You can’t control these things, but when it all aligns, you’ll feel good about yourself having been prepared for them.

I’m not saying the result is irrelevant, I’m just saying that the journey will mean more to you, so do it well.

Think of one thing you want today. Forget everything that surrounds it. Forget your petty thoughts on whether it’s hard or scary. Let go of all the stats and complications. Those are not for you to worry about. Just narrow down one thing… something that you want. Forget the rest. Focus on the actual wanting. Create an intention and focus on it. Without realizing, you will begin to move forward. The awareness of wanting something is that powerful. 

If you do this, you will steadily find yourself working towards something this week. Take it from someone who didn’t want to sit down at the computer today and is happy she did. You’re going to feel better for trying because in the end, it’s the run that heals that us, not the stopwatch.

Cheers, Tone

About Antonella Saravia

Antonella is a freelance writer. Graduated from Purdue University, Antonella is based out of New York City and Nicaragua, where she was raised. Follow her via Twitter @tonesaravia & Instagram via @tsaravia.

3 comments

  1. I love it, and its so true. Thanks Anto for your (always) inspiring words 🙂

  2. María Cristina Rondón

    This post was just what I needed this morning! THANK YOU!

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

