good morning, goodnight

So, I haven’t exactly been sleeping these days. It varies. I blame it on the change, but God knows, I’ve never been able to get to bed before 10pm. I didn’t sleep a wink tonight. So basically, I’ve joined a small pool of people that stay up late waiting (& hoping) for their bodies give out, so they can rest. Jesus, it’s like college all over again.

Anyway, it was getting close to 6am and I thought it would be nice to get some breakfast for my brother before he headed off to work. Now, I think there are very few people in this world that don’t enjoy breakfast and I happen to know all of them. I walked into his room just as the alarm went off and I smiled at him as he awoke from his heavenly slumber. I’d love to tell you that his lashes fluttered at the sight of me, but instead poked his head out of the covers, saw the bag and said, “WTF is wrong with you?”

Needless to say, I ate his breakfast and mine. I mean, what can I tell you—one of the best tasting orange juices of my life. Besides, his croissant was staring at me as I wrote out this post. The point of all this is that I went to the diner because I could. Because getting breakfast at random hours of the morning is something lots of people romanticize about New York, but some never do. Also, in relationships… the same rule applies. We romanticize about the moments we have with people, but sometimes overlook the opportunities we get to actually enjoy them. So although he thinks I’m crazy, he knows I love him. And who ever forgets that time that your sister woke you up with breakfast at 5.45am?

Let’s say you were to move away tomorrow. Let’s say something would happen to pull your life out from under you. What are the things that you would romanticize about this old life of yours? Who are the people that you would think fondly of? What are the moments you would like to look back on? Have you done them?

Do we romanticize about things we really want or is it all bullsh*t? Will we really miss these things or are they just ideas we like to love from a distance? The first time I asked myself this question was in Paris. I remember I was anxious the first morning and thought, “I’m obsessed with this city while I’m not here; something is definitely wrong if I’m not able to enjoy it while I am.”

If you were to change your life around, would you look back and romanticize about the small things in your life? If so, are you enjoying them now?

Think about it…’cause you never know.

Have a great morning.

;

Goodnight,

Tone

About Antonella Saravia

Antonella is a freelance writer. Graduated from Purdue University, Antonella is based out of New York City and Nicaragua, where she was raised. Follow her via Twitter @tonesaravia & Instagram via @tsaravia.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

