may you be so lucky

A few months ago, I asked my best friend and cousin to guest post on my blog, when ever she was ready. Today, I checked my email and there it sat. So without further ado, I give to you, Consuelo’s piece/peace:

So, my Mom has told me this story many times before, and I felt the need to share it as I suspect it may be the way Anto and I end up saying goodbye early next month.

When she and I started pre-school together, and our Mom’s dropped us off at the same time in the early morning… like any 3-year old entering the new world of socialization and no longer being in the safety of our mother’s arms all day, we both cried. And cried and cried. And then, we held hands and wiped eachother’s tears away. Me & Anto, Anto & me…

And so began a lifetime of wiping eachother’s tears away.

I moved to NY with absolutely no direction. No reason for being here. No real desire. Except to live with my cousin and best friend, who I have loved as a sister. She taught me the ins and outs of this place (don’t take the 6 Train after midnight! Don’t walk around without holding on to your purse!! You get to Brooklyn on the L. If you want to see famous people, go to Balthazar for lunch.) I don’t know where I would be now had she not done so with her loving patience.

I arrived almost 4 years ago this month, unknowing to the high cost of taxi service to LGA from Manhattan, with the strict REQUIREMENT that she pick me up at the American Airlines terminal. She graciously showed up, and helped me with the two bags of everything I thought would be cute to wear in this new city. I was excited and oblivious, with $1,000 in my pocket and no job in the brink of the 2008 stock market crash.

In my first month, all I wanted to do was glamorously drink in tiny bars, wine every night, walk on the old cobble stone streets of Soho, and meet random strangers on a Tuesday night out. Antonella was working at her first media agency job, a young 20-something waking up at 7:30 am to go to the magical place that is cubical desks and Latin America budgeting conference calls for Charmin Ultra Soft Toilet Paper. I would disturb her, stumbling in at 3am, not caring for her sleep, just happy I was living my dream. And there she lay, and said nothing. Letting me live in her room for free for nearly 3 months!….I think back now and man….you really loved me, Anto.

Anyways, life went on as it does, things happened, we grew apart, we grew together, we moved apartments twice, boyfriends came and went, unique inspirations, spiritual awakenings….and during all that, we still managed to wipe eachother’s tears.

So here I am now, facing the reality of socialization without the comfort of my best friends arms…terrified to experience New York without the safety of her here. Thankfully guys, she is not dying, she is not going off to another world, she is not disappearing…she is flying off to the warmth of our home country, Nicaragua. I will have to rely on technology to keep us connected….where we can virtually wipe the tears….until she comes back again.

Love,

Consuelo

As I wrap up my old life and head out for a new one, I am reminded of the importance of the people in our lives. Who would we be without them? Because to tell you the truth, no matter what she was doing, I had someone to talk to about anything and everything, and that… is an extraordinary thing to have. 

We all offer people different kinds of support and sometimes…you are lucky enough to find your perfect match. May you be so lucky to appreciate those rare finds. 

May you be so lucky to be there for the people that are helping you make music out of this seemingly untuned life. 

Besos, 

Tone & Cons
About Antonella Saravia

Antonella is a freelance writer. Graduated from Purdue University, Antonella is based out of New York City and Nicaragua, where she was raised. Follow her via Twitter @tonesaravia & Instagram via @tsaravia.

One comment

  1. Pili Restrepo

    Lloreeee

    Sent with love from an iPhone

    El sep 14, 2012, a las 10:20 p.m., bleustarchild escribió:

    > >

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

