start with coffee, end with champagne

As many of you spent your Sundays enjoying the comfort of your beds, couches, or friends, I was at my desk attempting to create a website that would in some way give me (and a potential client) a sense of professional direction. I don’t think I need to get into how many cups of coffee I had.

It wasn’t until just now that I began to understand how I got here, at this desk, in front of this f*cking screen for 12+ hours.

  • Being approachable. I used to be a lot of things, but above all I was sensitive and scared of being wrong. Today, I had to email a boat-load of people and asked them for their opinions on the site. I was pretty straight forward, “let me know if something annoys you.” I had already invested more than 12+ hours on this over the past week, which doesn’t include the 12 hours I spent in front of the computer today. You’d think that I stormed off at one point or huffed at the sight of so many corrections, but I did not. I continued to work through the feedback. Honestly, I felt so fortunate to hear the things I did. That’s when I realized I was aiming to make it better, not perfect. The site changed dramatically in the last 6 hours, but I never lost my cool. It’s not because I’m a good person, passionate, or any bullsh*t like that. It’s because when you’re interested in being better, you listen carefully and figure out how to apply it. If you aren’t ready for feedback, you aren’t ready for the final product. No project is done alone. No idea is uninfluenced. If man is not an island, than neither are his ideas. We need others to improve our lives and our work, so being approachable is essential.
  • Hillary was right. So maybe not about kids, but it does take a village to get sh*t done. Whether it’s life or a project, the people and resources around us are vital. We don’t see things the same way and thank heavens most people do not have the same insecurities and obstacles as us. Our demons are customized, which allows for the probability that someone at the table will have a little more clarity on any given subject. Make sure to use that in life and in business. They might not be right, but at least after that you’ll be more sure of yourself.

As the evening set in, I found myself with a completely different site. A site that I loved, but pushed my boundaries, which is exactly where I needed to be.

In life, we have an idea; life edits it. The magic can be found in the evolution of this idea, but it needs your permission to do that. You need to be game. Anyway, with that said, I wish you a great Monday morning and I introduce to you antonellasaravia.com.

I hope you enjoy.

Aaron, it’s time to celebrate!

Besos y gracias a todos,

Tone
About Antonella Saravia

Antonella is a freelance writer. Graduated from Purdue University, Antonella is based out of New York City and Nicaragua, where she was raised. Follow her via Twitter @tonesaravia & Instagram via @tsaravia.

2 comments

  1. Martha Sanchez

    On that note :), Happy Monday!!!!!
    Besitos

  2. Leonie M. Saravia

    Te quiero hija preciosa

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

