the answer to all your problems: the 80s

If you’ve never walked down the streets of New York pretending you’re in an 80s movie while an old tune plays, you haven’t really lived. We all know that there is something about New York that tugs at the heart, but there is something special about the 80s, isn’t there? Perhaps it was the emergence of pop or maybe it had something to do with people getting bolder and the pieces they wore. I don’t know what it was, but when I look back on the 80s I feel like people were excited about something (which explains the era’s obsessions with New York). I feel like there was an overall excited outlook on where people, fashion, and ideas were headed. Perhaps we had finally found some balance between the uptight poodle skirt and the skinny-dipping hippies. I’ve always felt like the 80s movies were given permission to bring back a little bit of that “happy ending” that got lost somewhere after the whole “Pleasantville” way of life ideal bursted. Maybe by the time the 80s rolled in, people just kind of realized that cool sh*t kept happening, life kept going, and … it was fun. Even the sad songs are worth screaming to, even the sad ones are exciting.

I’ve been reached out to lately regarding heartbreak and hardship and I’ve been blank on what to write. As I walked home from the grocery store today and kept reviewing the details of a conversation I had, an 80s song came on and I literally had to stop myself from two-stepping on the sidewalk. I have been blessed with having the patience to actually listen to lyrics…and as I began to hear the synthesizers and electronic beats fade in, I smiled. Wishful thinking.

The 80s was about wishful thinking and I don’t know where, but somewhere after Ferris Buller’s Day Off we tried to stick to being realistic and practical. Maybe we got scared, maybe it was something else. Maybe the music changed? I don’t know what it was, but of all the things I’ve tried to get over fears, issues, and guys… the promise of getting there always pushed me farther than anything else.

The trick to wishful thinking is not having a set goal. It’s not about aiming the wish, it’a simply about having it. Just having it pushes you forward.

So, today when you get out of work, put your earphones on. We’re going back to the 80s. Honestly, who could be pessimistic with synthesizers and primary colors? It’s time to stop taking things so seriously and the 80s did it best. Besides, how are you ever going to get over things without some music and dancing? Whatever the issue, the first thing you gotta do is learn to have a little fun with it.

So, get up and Michael J. Fox that sh*t. 

muchos besos, 
the queen of wishful thinking
About Antonella Saravia

Antonella is a freelance writer. Graduated from Purdue University, Antonella is based out of New York City and Nicaragua, where she was raised. Follow her via Twitter @tonesaravia & Instagram via @tsaravia.

3 comments

  1. Ursula

    This one made me smile…a LOT! Wishful thinking everyone!!!

  2. nice thank you for sharing most informative ideas and also your good view. lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

