midnight study sessions

So check it out—for the first time in my life, I have a boss and clients that I love. Yes, folks. It’s been a long road, but I finally on my way to “making it.” Unlike the Olsen twins, it took me a bit of time to realize that I could do anything that I set my mind to.

I wrote about art and the universe earlier this year in a post, but as I re-read a similar quote in the Olsen twin’s book, I realized that I had finally reached a different level of understanding of how things work. “Like everything you put out into there for the universe to see, it all comes back to you,” said Ashley Olsen. I know this to be true now. I spend most of my afternoons trying to find a roommate or a half-decent job to pay the bills, but at night, I begin to panic whether I am deserving of the industries I am trying to break into, so I study. I study because I’ve come to understand that the more curiosity that I put out there, the more information and opportunity will find it’s way back to me.

Yes, while you are brushing your teeth, finishing dinner, or getting ready for bed, I am studying. I’ve come to understand that the people that most of us look up to in life and in the industries we love can’t afford to stop learning. Learning allows their methods to continue to evolve, which is how they continue to surprise us time and time again.

I think that one day I may be as great a writer/photographer as I’ve always dreamed of being if I continue to do one thing: study. I’m entering art worlds where people have been doing what they do their whole lives. Right now, I know a photographer, a dear friend, who has been taking pictures since he was a baby. He’s now in Italy working for the next few weeks. Isn’t that dreamy? How could I ever get to his level? I can’t know for sure if it’s even possible, but you better bet your ass that I will be trying to absorb as much information as I can so one day I can meet him half-way.

The way I see it one only needs three things to excel in anything in life: the passion to want to learn more about it, the humility to understand that there is always more to learn (no matter how far up one gets), and finally, the courage to express their perspective with everything they’re learning. Whether it’s a relationship, a business, or just the simple act of being, if you think you figured it all out, you’re already behind. If you’re looking for a person or job to give you that feeling, you’re not only going to be screwed, you’re also going to be boring. We’re constantly changing and the journey is to keep going, to keep learning, and to immerse yourself in the unraveling of things. I think that’s when we begin to bump elbows with greatness, when we give our consent to becoming part of this endless struggle to be better. When we understand, there will always be more and we’re ready to chase after that.

I once knew someone that would study hours on end on an industry they weren’t in and I didn’t understand it then, but I do now. One needs to invest that kind of curiosity to being better humans as well as better professionals. Pick something, someone (even if it’s yourself), or somewhere that you will never tire of learning. When we loose ourselves in the growth, we don’t move—we glide. You don’t feel it. One day, you’ll just find yourself in a unexpected conversation or experience and information will be pouring out of you without you realizing it. You’ll have to stop and think, Did I just lie? You didn’t, you just hadn’t grasped how much information you had processed.

As kids, we understand that there is always more to learn, which makes us more receptive to information. We’re open to learning, adjusting our methods, and we’re not scared of the idea of growth. We understand that there is a long road ahead of us and we’re not threatened by it. As adults, discovering that we don’t know everything seems to paralyze us, but I mean,…? This is impossible.

Forget about where you stand now and stop feeling threatened by all the things you don’t know, because you can know them in time. There will always be things that make us feel inadequate, but instead of pausing because of it, let that drive you. Learn more about it, about yourself in it. We really can do everything we set our minds to. The cool part  is that no one mind sets the same goal, so if we’re all after our dreams, the possibilities of unique ideas surfacing are quite endless. So don’t be boring, I beg of you. Surprise us & give us more to learn from. The world needs it.

See you on the other side,

Tone
About Antonella Saravia

Antonella is a freelance writer. Graduated from Purdue University, Antonella is based out of New York City and Nicaragua, where she was raised. Follow her via Twitter @tonesaravia & Instagram via @tsaravia.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

