where great men have gone

And finally, the trick to surviving self-discovery…

Whenever it is you decide to begin this journey of going deeper, aside from your friends, there will be a new world of sources that you can explore. When the tide hits high and you’re at a loss of breath, read. Find those who wrote about what you feel. Look for those who shamelessly spilled their pains and joys on paper. It will crack open a door in you, your humanity guarantees it. It’s their release that heals and inspires others. In return, each of these inspired beings then creates their own release, that heals and inspires the world back. And so goes the cycle…

Kerouac

I bought a small notebook that I carry around with me. I write anything that inspires me in there. It contains only things that I love. No one influences what goes in there but me. No one’s passions are in that book, but my own. That’s also why I bought it. It was important that no one else picked out the brand, the size, or the color, but me.

All there is in that notebook are things that make my heart flutter, things that make me want to to get up and conquer the world, things that make me feel like someone understands my darkness and my light. In time, this notebook has helped me understand how my heart works.

It’s the writers, novels, and the classics that remind us that we are not alone. That other hearts have been broken, that other risk-takers have been scared, paralyzed by their fears. That others have faced hardships and confusion. But as we read on…an inevitable thought surfaces after we realize that someone felt as we do…then what happened?

Hemingway

The classics are behind you, keep moving. It can be done. It’s been done before.

Para delante, 

Tone

About Antonella Saravia

Antonella is a freelance writer. Graduated from Purdue University, Antonella is based out of New York City and Nicaragua, where she was raised. Follow her via Twitter @tonesaravia & Instagram via @tsaravia.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

