the organic hours

Half-way through my work out with the one and only Ms. Leonie, my mother, this morning—as I was cursing my own body weight, things started to feel a little simple. Ok, so maybe I wasn’t in Bali working out on a shore, but backyards can be nice. Ask any city dweller. I have been trying to focus on looking for the discomfort and happiness inside (that’s usually pinned on external factors); as I had mentioned in my previous post. And as I was holding out for our last set in plank position, I realized that I was doing the same with my fitness routine.

get-wedding-ready-guide

Funny, isn’t it? Mentally & emotionally, one of the most productive things I can do is be still and look inside for clarity. As I rested on the mat, I realized that I was doing the same with my body. I did it when I ran and I was doing it then as I was looking for the strength to carry myself through different muscles exercises. I was not using tools or distractions. I was just pushing and carrying myself, organically.

I know that life can’t always be like this, but maybe we should make sure to have spurts of this kind of simplicity, where there is very little that you are using to enrich yourself but yourself. So, you were always there, huh?

of-escher-and-reality-of-illusion

As I got up to get water, I started thinking about all the things that I’ve been doing by just using myself as a source; The willingness to search for the stillness that I need, the desire to run and exercise, and the incessant drive to improve & write. Stripped of so many distractions, who would have known that all the tools that I needed to do my most impressive repair work have all just been waiting for me to start. Already included in my original package. Maybe we think we lack the tools, but in reality, what we lack is the attitude.

To the organic hours of your life, may you use them wisely,

Tone

About Antonella Saravia

Antonella is a freelance writer. Graduated from Purdue University, Antonella is based out of New York City and Nicaragua, where she was raised. Follow her via Twitter @tonesaravia & Instagram via @tsaravia.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

