the soft and simple

This morning, I woke up to 2 quotes on my Facebook page. One about love, the other about New York. I’ve been sick in bed for about 3 days now, so they both got to me quickly. I miss home. I miss my streets. I miss everything about it; the coats, the feeling, everything. So, please forgive me if I am extra sensitive this morning. I’m homesick and I’m also physically sick, so that’s where this softer post is coming from today.

“Love is when you go out to eat and give somebody most of your French fries without making them give you any of theirs.”  Chrissy, Age 6

photo-1

Last week, a few of us headed out to farewell dinner. We were trying to get creative with our food selection and before we knew it, we were heading west towards Granada, leaving the capital behind us. With three completely different personalities at the table, the debate on the definition of love got a little complex. After dinner, we were treated to a midnight cruise of Lake Nicaragua. With such an extraordinary scenery at hand, coupled with a pitch-black starry night, I couldn’t help but feel as though the conversation continued.

photo

What is it? is all I could think as my feet rested up on the edge of the boat. Well, I actually don’t know. I doubt I’m currently qualified to answer that, but I think the truth lies in your gut. You know when it kicks. And Princess, ain’t nobody that can start it or stop it when it’s time, so you might as well sit  back and relax when it comes.

The quote above reminded me that it was in the little things. The little tells that only you can decipher. I don’t know what my little tells are and I know less of yours, but once you notice the manifestation of these small confessions, embrace it, because it doesn’t come as often and as clear as one would think.

With that said, I give you the simplest of explanations to this timeless question:

“When someone loves you, the way they say your name is different. You just know that your name is safe in their mouth.” Billy, Age 4

“Love is when a girl puts on perfume and a boy puts on shaving cologne and they go out and smell each other.” Karl, Age 5

“Love is when my mommy makes coffee for my daddy and she takes a sip before giving it to him, to make sure the taste is OK.”  Danny, Age 7

“Love is what’s in the room with you at Christmas if you stop opening presents and listen.” Bobby, Age 7

“If you want to learn to love better, you should start with a friend who you hate.”  Nikka, Age 6

“Love is when you tell a guy you like his shirt, then he wears it everyday.”  Noelle, Age 7

“During my piano recital, I was on a stage and I was scared. I looked at all the people watching me and saw my daddy waving and smiling. He was the only one doing that. I wasn’t scared anymore.” Cindy, Age 8

“Love is when Mommy gives Daddy the best piece of chicken.”  Elaine, Age 5

“When you love somebody, your eyelashes go up and down and little stars come out of you.” Karen, Age 7

Con Amor,  

Tone

About Antonella Saravia

Antonella is a freelance writer. Graduated from Purdue University, Antonella is based out of New York City and Nicaragua, where she was raised. Follow her via Twitter @tonesaravia & Instagram via @tsaravia.

2 comments

  1. Ursula Amrhein

    Hope you feel better and you will see that with time you will eventually get used to your streets and your home in Nicaragua! You can wear your coats and get the feeling back when you travel 🙂

    Ursula

    On Mon, Jan 14, 2013 at 1:56 PM, bleustarchild

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

