hello dear

Someone recently asked me for some advice and the best thing that I can do is piggy back off a letter someone once sent me:

Hello Dear, I’m sorry to hear you’re still having trouble with this issue. So here is the secret that you asked for: you need to look at the bigger picture. You need to see your life out of the bubble that you are in. You need to clear your mind. You need to picture your life how you want it to be. I did this myself; I made a decision and I engraved this decision in my heart. I wanted it to be over. There was too much baggage &  resentment tangled up all together. It was literally like a switch; I had no doubts because I knew with every fiber that it was the best choice. I didn’t want that for my life. I didn’t want to keep suffering. Think about how many things can make you happy in this world. Why be associated to this thing that doesn’t? You should be out looking for the good stuff, instead of here, with that.

There has to be a clear decision, say it out loud,”This is not what I want.” After I said that, what followed was inevitable. When you realize you don’t want something in your life, the wheels begin to turn without you. I know that you really don’t want this in your life anymore, but it’s foggy because of everything that is going on. No detail matters after you decide that it’s not part of your life anymore. Suddenly, it becomes clear that there is something better out there for you.

cc686806645511e2ab5722000a9e0907_7

Try going to a place that’s quiet to think. Sit there and weigh out the pros and cons. I bet you anything that there are more cons to this situation. Then, make that choice for something better because you can have it. Look at the big picture. Imagine the world and all the things it holds. This isn’t the best it has. You know that. And once that is engraved in your heart…there is nothing left to fight. You’ll just be free.

With love, J

Life will always give you what you want or need to be miserable for free. It’s the happy stuff that you gotta pay for, and if you’re cheap about it, well the vendors of life have made a product just for you. Anxiety and stomach issues included.

Think about how many things make you peacefully happy in this world. Why are you so devoted to the ones that you have to rationalize?  This isn’t the best that it has. You know that. Maybe it’s time to admit it. Maybe it’s time to want something better. 

And so, as I finished this letter, my chanting began…

That’s what I want. That’s what I want. That’s what I want. That’s what I want. That’s what I want. That’s what I want. That’s what I want. That’s what I want. That’s what I want. That’s what I want. That’s what I want. That’s what I want. That’s what I want. That’s what I want. That’s what I want. That’s what I want. That’s what I want. That’s what I want. That’s what I want. That’s what I want. That’s what I want. That’s what I want. That’s what I want. That’s what I want. That’s what I want. That’s what I want. That’s what I want. That’s what I want. That’s what I want. That’s what I want. That’s what I want. That’s what I want. That’s what I want. That’s what I want.

And here we are. And here we go again.

Te invito,

Tone

Dedicated to J & D. “Damaged people are the most dangerous. They know they can survive.”

About Antonella Saravia

Antonella is a freelance writer. Graduated from Purdue University, Antonella is based out of New York City and Nicaragua, where she was raised. Follow her via Twitter @tonesaravia & Instagram via @tsaravia.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

