ah, but what if it does?

I am thankful for the safe car ride to and from my morning workout.

I am thankful for my home and for everything that means and has meant these past few months.

524800_10102230755240548_1142853380_n

I am thankful for the cup of coffee that was provided to me at 5.45am that encouraged me to get out of bed.

I am thankful for those who keep me on my toes and get me to sweat it out every morning. Sometimes because they know I need it, not necessarily because they want to.

I am thankful for my closest friends. You know who you are and you know what you do.

I am thankful for breakfast. Big breakfasts. Made by other people. For me.

I am thankful for my boss & creative soulmate. I am thankful for finding someone that actually gets the way my brain works (Wait, so, I’m not weird? Oh, yes I am, you just are too! Yay! Hug!). If there is anything I’ve learned in recent years is that there will be very few people that will know how to inspire you and less that will understand the odd look in your eyes when you’re dreaming of something.

I am thankful that today—I still haven’t figured out how—I am paving the way to a freelancing life. And as I sit here, at my writer’s desk, I am thankful of that decision that I made so long ago to be shameless, open, and to pour my heart out. I’m thankful for loving something that way. It could’ve gone differently for me, but like Peter McWilliam’s quote says: 

It is a risk to love. What if it doesn’t work out? Ah, but what if it does?

I am thankful that I was given just a little discomfort and curiosity that led to a rentless desire to be happy. But more importantly, I’m happy that it was making me miserable that resulted in refusing to settle for less. I realize that my happiness was guaranteed the minute I began fighting for it.

02900f18797a11e28dc022000a1f8c21_7

I am so thankful for all the stories coming, but more so for the ones currently unfolding themselves. They are a reminder that this keeps going, way past the hangover, way past pain, anxiety, or anything else that makes you cringe. It goes on and the good stuff is coming again. The good stuff is here. The good stuff has been here all along.

For this mind, for this crazy whirlwind of a mind and heart; both of which I plan to use up completely until dry.

I am thankful for a road less traveled. Possibly not the brightest, or the strangest, or trendiest, but by all means my own.

IMG_8603

Tone

About Antonella Saravia

Antonella is a freelance writer. Graduated from Purdue University, Antonella is based out of New York City and Nicaragua, where she was raised. Follow her via Twitter @tonesaravia & Instagram via @tsaravia.

4 comments

  1. Pingback: Best Three Things that I’m Thankful For | best 3 of everything

  2. Ursula Amrhein

    LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!

    Ursula Amrhein

    Sent from my iPhone

  3. ❤ Thank you, Ursula!!!! Thank you so much for your feedback!

  4. Martha Sanchez

    I still having figure it out so many things…… and I’m Thankful!!!!!!!!

I'd love to hear your thoughts!

