the wind in your hair

I remember watching Lost a few years back during my summer intern lunch breaks. I will never forget one of the scenes from the first season. Someone was scared out of her wits and the main character- I think his name was Jack- said something that stayed with me. He told the girl who was scared to count to 10. In those seconds, she had permission to feel every single ounce of that fear. But when the 10 seconds were over, she needed to take a deep breath and go outside to face it.

We all have fears that we hide behind- they may even run our lives. We break them up into small parts so they are less clear. We dress them up as other things so they are less frightening. Rarely are these fears ever faced head on. So I say this: whatever fear is holding on to you at this very moment, feel it. Take a deep breath and count to 10. As you count, release every negative thought, every treacherous outcome, and all the pain that it brings. Let it rush through you. Allow them to exist for those moments. Count slowly, if it helps.

But when you get to 9, before there’s any time to doubt it, close your eyes and hit the gas.

Only then will you feel the wind in your hair and that’s when you will know that the journey has begun.

via there's chemicals in the clouds

Love, Tone

PS. The question isn’t who is going to let me; it’s who is going to stop me.   Ayn Rand

About Antonella Saravia

Antonella is a freelance writer. Graduated from Purdue University, Antonella is based out of New York City and Nicaragua, where she was raised. Follow her via Twitter @tonesaravia & Instagram via @tsaravia.

One comment

  1. Pingback: my scary thing « bleustarchild

I'd love to hear your thoughts!